What happens if someone else tries to open a new listing, claiming they are managing my business?

Last updated on November 2nd, 2021

In case someone else creates a listing as if they were managing your business, the outcome will depend on the directory itself.

For example, Google would identify it as a duplicate and from your Google My Business account, you could report it as a duplicate.

For other directories, in case they allow us to remove a duplicate, we will do so after continuously checking for duplicates. You can read here‍ more details about how we handle this.

What is important to note is that we cannot prevent people from creating duplicates on a directory. We can only identify them afterwards. Some directories are able to block duplicate creation and display a message showing that a listing for the location is already being created.

Was this article helpful?

Save as PDF