Facebook (FB) Connect Guide

A step-by-step guide to connect your Facebook pages

Last updated on March 11th, 2022

For us to be able to keep your location data updated, a Facebook (FB) location needs to be connected to the platform.

Important

The user establishing the connection must be administrator of the listing.

This article will show you how to check your Page Role.


We will guide you step-by-step through the process!


Claiming existing locations

If your business already has existing location pages, these must be claimed through Facebook first.

- To learn about claiming unmanaged Facebook pages, click here.
- To learn about requesting access to Facebook pages, click here.


Decision Tree
I am looking for a guide to..
  • Connect individual locations
  • Connect locations in bulk
  • Add Button


Step 1
Connect




Go to the 'Directories' tab of the location and click "Connect" on the Facebook widget to start the process.




Step 2
Start




A pop-up window will open showing you the details of the location you are about to connect to the platform.

If you wish to connect a Facebook page managed by someone else, please go to Step 5d. 

In all other cases, please click "Start".



Step 3
Sign in



Make sure you log in to the Facebook account you manage the location(s) already or wish manage the location(s) with. 

Please note: If you have no Facebook Account you need to create one to be able to create a Facebook page.  Find more about Facebook Business Manager and how to create an account here.



Step 4
Allow Access



A window will open in which you are asked to grant the Local Listing Connector access to the Facebook account. 

Click “Allow”. 

If you have previously allowed access, this step will be skipped.



Step 5
Select Location



What you need to do next depends on the current state of the Facebook page. 

We put together an overview for you covering all options below:

5A: Create and connect a new Facebook page 
If there is no existing Facebook page, please click on "Create a new Facebook location".
You will automatically be an admin of this page.

A Facebook requirement here is to have either a landscape or a main photo and also either a squared logo or a standard logo photo. If these are not already present on the location you wish to connect you will be presented with a page asking you to upload these and retry the creation process once complete.


5B: Connect an existing company page that is managed by you
Search the Facebook location you would like to connect in the list of available options and select the location by clicking "Confirm".


5C: Connect an existing unofficial (unmanaged) page
If you wish to connect a location that exists, yet is unclaimed, you must first claim the page through Facebook!
Then you must follow the Option B flow.


5D: Connect an existing company page that is managed by someone else
If the Facebook page is owned or administered by one of your businesses (e.g. a franchisee), you can send them the link in the connect flow under ‘Someone else is taking care of your Facebook page?’.
They can then sign in to the respective Facebook account using their email and password and confirm within a few clicks that the profile may be connected to our platform. As soon as the owner/administrator of the Facebook page has approved the account connection the process is complete.






To connect your locations in bulk, you must have a Main (Brand) page - location page structure. If this is not the case, you must connect the pages individually.

If you do not already have Facebook Business Manager account, follow the steps in this article to create one.

To learn more about the Facebook structures and their effects, click here.


What does connecting in bulk (account level) mean?

The system will automatically map out all of the locations in your account to your existing location pages in Facebook. Additionally, if you have a location in your account that does not have a location page in Facebook, the system will create it automatically and nest it under the Main (Brand) page. The page name will be the Main (Brand) page name + location descriptor in parenthesis.


If you wish to change the location page names, you must contact Facebook support.


Note

If your existing location pages have a different name than the Main (Brand) page prior to connecting, the system will NOT overwrite the name.

If there is a location in the account that you DO NOT wish to connect to this Main (Brand) page, then this is NOT the correct ‘connect’ option for you. Why? You will not be able to individually disconnect these locations.


Facebook Connect Scenarios

It is not possible to connect one account to multiple Facebook Main page structures (see below). If you wish to do so, you should split the account into multiple accounts prior to connecting.

If you have the Main (Brand) page structure already set-up, you can proceed to connect Facebook. The system will create the missing locations and nest them under the brand page. 
If this is not the case, click on the scenario below that applies to your current Facebook status:

Scenario 1: I have some locations but no structure

Scenario 2: I am starting from scratch


Connect Facebook

The next step is to connect your Facebook account. 

Delete

Warning

Before proceeding, it is important that the location information in the platform is matching the Facebook location address data, otherwise the system will not recognise the location and potentially create a duplicate. 


Log in the platform and, if you manage multiple accounts, filter for the Account you wish to connect. 

This step is important because you want to make sure you are connecting the account to the right account.

Next, select one of the filtered locations and go to the 'Directories' tab.


Step 1 Connect
Click on "Connect"


Step 2 Start
Click on "Start"


Step 3 Sign in
Enter account details and click on "Log in"


Step 4 Allow Access
Click on "OK"



Step 5 Select Account
Select the account that contains the location



Step 6 Connect
Click on "Connect all locations"





Having trouble finding and connecting your page to the platform? Make sure you are meeting the criteria required to connect your page explained here.


Warning

If your admin Page Role is subsequently removed or your password is changed, the connection will be invalidated and must be re-established.

It is vital for the user to grant the permissions for the updates to be successful.


 


Was this article helpful?

Save as PDF