FAQ about Facebook

The most common questions about Facebook

Last updated on October 10th, 2022

If you are wondering about your Facebook page and how you can better manage it through our platform, you may find some insightful answers to the most frequently asked questions below:

Can access be given on location level directly in Facebook?

Yes, this is possible. The applicable role is called Editor.

 

Why couldn't a Facebook listing be created?

One of the main reasons why a Facebook listing is not created is because they do not allow location and business names all in capital letters. In order to fix this, please follow the steps:

  1. Change the name(s) accordingly, so only the first letter or the first letters of each word of your business name is capitalized;
  2. Sync‍ the affected location(s).
  3. The Facebook listing will be created.
 

Which data fields can be filled when the Facebook pages are synced with our platform?

If your Facebook page is connected to our platform, the following Facebook fields will be filled once you add them in our platform: 

  • Name
  • Address
  • Phone number
  • Website
  • Short description (About)
  • Long description (Additional Information)
  • E-mail address
  • Logo (Profile Picture)
  • Landscape Image (Cover Image, if none uploaded, the first photo will be used as a fallback)
  • Photos
  • Opening hours
  • Imprint
 

What is the logic for setting cover photos on Facebook?

If you upload a landscape photo, we will set it as Facebook cover photo, unless there's a newer one* already present on Facebook. Additionally, if a location does not have a landscape photo, we then set the main photo as cover photo only if Facebook does not have a cover photo at all.

*We look at the timestamp and compare the time when the file was edited and saved for the last time.

 

If I delete old landscape photos in the platform, will they no longer be displayed on Facebook?

No, you are unable to delete old landscape photos through our platform. 

When you upload a new landscape photo, it will be pushed to Facebook and displayed as the first cover photo in case the timestamp* of the file is newer than the one on Facebook.

Please note, though, that the old ones will still remain online and you can delete them directly in Facebook.

*By timestamp we mean the time when the file was edited and saved for the last time.

 

Why is the logo, which I uploaded through the platform, not showing on my Facebook page?

Facebook has its own logic when it comes to photos and logos. 

That means that FB will accept the logo we are sending as long as its timestamp is younger than the current logo (in Facebook). That also means, that if you manually upload a logo directly on Facebook, we will not update it as long as the one you have on Facebook has a younger timestamp. 

*By timestamp we mean the time when the file was edited and saved for the last time.

 

What happens to my 'likes', followers, photos and posts when I merge two stand-alone Facebooks Business pages?

What happens to my 'likes', followers, photos and posts when I merge two stand-alone Facebooks Business pages?

Users who like your Pages and any check-ins will be combined, while posts, photos...

Users who like your Pages and any check-ins will be combined, while posts, photos, reviews, ratings and the username will be deleted from the Page you merge. See more details here.

Remember: you can only merge two stand-alone Facebook Business pages; it is not possible to merge two Facebook Location pages. 

 

 

Will the platform overwrite the name of my existing Facebook page?

Will the platform overwrite the name of my existing Facebook page?

When you connect your existing Facebook pages one by one (individual connection) ...

When you connect your existing Facebook pages one by one (individual connection) and sync, the system will not overwrite the existing Facebook page names with the location name from our platform.

Facebook will only use the location name from our platform when you connect the Facebook account and then create a Facebook business page from scratch. 

 

 

Is it possible to deactivate the review feature on Facebook?

Yes, Facebook is the only directory that allows to switch off the review function. Please follow these steps:

  1. You need to log into Facebook and click Pages and choose the page you want to deactivate the reviews for
  2. Click on Settings on the left
  3. On the left side, you will find the menu item Template and Tabs: please click on it;
  4. Under the menu item Tabs, you should select Reviews;
  5. Now, you can switch it off, using the On/Off switch - blue meaning on;
  6. Facebook saves the changes automatically
 

Can I publish offers on Facebook?

Can I publish offers on Facebook?

You cannot publish offers on Facebook via our platform. However, Facebook does su...

You cannot publish offers on Facebook via our platform. However, Facebook does support news posts.

 

 


 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

Save as PDF